Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Board Briefs for Monday, February 13, 2017 Regular Session

The Board met on Monday, February 13, 2017 at 7 p.m. at City Hall. Those members present: Bower, Dabeet, Drawbaugh, Finn, Mather, and Wildermuth. Absent: Naber. Also present: Superintendent Riibe and Director of Finance Tom Anderson.

  1. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.
  2. President Drawbaugh welcomed visitors and media representatives.
  3. MHS Student Council provided an update to the Board.
  4. The February Employees of the Month were recognized. They are: Mary Spratt - McKinley Kindergarten Teacher; Erin Thomas - MHS Special Education Teacher; Shauna Dennison - Assistant Principal at CMS; Nicky Sand - Elementary Music Teacher at Grant/Mulberry; and Angie Curtis - WMS Gifted and Talented Teacher. Go to: Employee Recognition Form to nominate an outstanding employee.
  5. No one spoke during Citizens Speak.
  6. The Consent Agenda was approved which included:
    1. The minutes of January 9, 2017 Regular Meeting and the January 23, 2017 Work Session.
    2. Employment Recommendations:
      1. Resignations-Certified Staff: Suzanne Christenson - CMS 7th Grade ELA/Honors ELA (effective at end of 2016/17 school year); Heather France - MHS Language Arts Teacher (effective 2/13/17); Marinda Gacke - CMS Science (effective at end of 2016/17 school year); Sarah Ohl - Jefferson 4th Grade (effective at end of 2016/17 school year); Austin Siefers - WMS Vocal Music Teacher (effective 1/25/17).
      2. New Hires - Schedule C: Robe Awbrey - MHS Wrestling Assistant; Mike Fladlien - MHS Mock Trial; Al McDonald - MHS Boys Basketball; Mary Goedken - MHS Boys Tennis; Chris Hoffman - MHS Robotics; Clay Dillon - MHS Assistant Softball.
      3. Resignations - Schedule C: Wade McLeod - MHS Assistant Wrestling (1/2 contract); Ryan Kitzmann - MHS Robotics; Greg Browne - CMS Track; Jim Lankey - MHS Girls Tennis.
      4. New Hires - Classified Professional: Patricia Fritz - Elementary Attendance Coordinator - Admin Center.
      5. Resignations - Administration: Jaimie Caffery - Grant Principal (effective at end of 2016/17 school year).
    3. Bills and Claims against the district dated January 13, 2017.
  7. The 2017-18 and 2018-19 school calendars were approved.
  8. Auditors from Bohnsack and Frommelt LLP presented an overview of the FY16 audit.
  9. The board approved to accept and place on file the audit of FY2016.
  10. The board approved the budget guarantee resolution.
  11. The board approved the MHS Project Phase II design, construction documents, and release to contractors for bid solicitation.
  12. The board heard several presentations regarding the District Needs Assessment/Long-term goal planning/Systems Thinking.
    1. Liz  Hollingsworth, Director of the University of Iowa's Center for Evaluation and Assessment presented her findings from the District Needs Assessment that was conducted this fall.
    2. Chuck Manges and Dave Markward, consultants to the district, presented information on the district's long-term goal planning.
    3. Superintendent Riibe provided information on a possible Systems Thinking model for the district's at-risk student population.
  13. Director of Finance Tom Anderson presented the financials for the month of January, 2017.
  14. The following announcements/future meetings were shared:
    1. February 16, 2017 - IASB State Penny Discussion @ Mt. Pleasant
    2. February 20, 2017 - No School - President's Day
    3. February 27, 2017 - Board Work Session; 6 p.m.; Administration Center
  15. The meeting adjourned at 8:50 p.m.

No comments:

Post a Comment