Tuesday, September 11, 2018

Board Briefs for Monday, September 10, 2018 Regular Meeting


The Board of Education of the Muscatine Community School District met in regular session on Monday, September 10, 2018, at 7 p.m. at City Hall. President Tammi Drawbaugh called the meeting to order. Directors John Dabeet, Aaron Finn, Nathan Mather, Toby McCarter, and Mary Wildermuth were present. Also present were Superintendent Jerry Riibe, Assistant Superintendent Mike McGrory, and Director of Finance Tom Anderson.
  1. The board recited the Pledge of Allegiance.
  2. Visitors and media representatives were welcomed.
  3. No one spoke during Citizens Speak.
  4. Student council representatives updated the board on student council activities.
  5. The consent agenda was approved:
    1. Minutes of August 13, 2018, regular meeting.
    2. Bills and Claims against the district dated September 10, 2018, for FY 18 and FY 19.
  6. Randy Naber was appointed to fill the board seat vacated by Tim Bower.
  7. The retiring board adjourned at 7:09 p.m.
  1. Tammi Drawbaugh was elected President of the Board.
  2. Mary Wildermuth was elected Vice-President of the Board.
  3. The following annual meeting transactions were approved:
    1. Appointed Lisa Mosier Bunn as Board Secretary.
    2. Appointed Tom Anderson as Board Treasurer.
    3. Designated First National Bank, CBI Bank and Trust, and Community Bank as official depositories.
    4. Appointed Stanley, Lande, and Hunter, Ahlers Law Firm, and Lynch Dallas P.C. as counsels.
    5. Designated the Muscatine Journal as the publication of record.
    6. Designated Bohnsack and Frommelt as auditor of record.
    7. Approved the Statement of the Board's Review and Support for Discipline Policies and Co-curricular, Extra-curricular Programs.
    8. Appointed district compliance officers.
  4. The board meeting schedule for September, 2018 through November, 2019 was shared.
  5. Appointed President Drawbaugh as the IASB Delegate.
  6. Appointed Director Dabeet to serve on the County Conference Board.
  7. Appointed Vice-President Wildermuth to serve on the Ag Learning Center Board.
  8. Board Goals/Targets:
    1. Early Childhood Programming, Returning 6th Grade to the Elementary Level, and a possible timeline of district projects were reviewed.
  9. Consent Agenda was approved:
    1. Employment Recommendations:
      1. New Hires - Certified staff: Tony Hollenbaugh - SPED, Grant; Kelsey Meier - 2nd Grade, Colorado; Janna Weiss - Spanish, MHS; John Windham - Success Center, MHS.
      2. New Hires - Schedule C: John Windham - Head Boys Basketball; Gabriel McDonald - Curriculum Coordinator - Math, MHS; Cara Shepherd - MS Curriculum Coordinator - SPED, CMS; Derek Schipper, MS Track, WMS; Alexandra Rauenbuehler - MS Volleyball, CMS; Brandon Welsch - MS Football, WMS; Jackson Foulk, MS Football k- WMS; Abigail Lange - Pom Pon, MHS; Matthew Shoultz - Assistant Football, MHS.
      3. Resignations - Schedule C: Jason Stoltzfus - Head Girls Softball; Alison Anson - AP Coordinator, MHS; Stephanie Barrios - Soccer, Assistant Girls.
    2. Student Teaching Agreement with Morningside College.
    3. Driver's Education Agreement with Mississippi Bend AEA.
  10. Legat Architects were approved for the MHS STEM/Science Project and possible other projects for 2018-19.
  11. Early Retirement Incentive for the 2018-19 school year was discussed.
  12. July Financials were reviewed.
  13. The following dates of upcoming meetings and events were announced:
    1. October 8, 2018: Regular Board Meeting; 7 p.m.; City Hall
    2. October 9, 2018: Progress Report Breakfast; 7:30 a.m.; Admin Center
    3. October 22, 2018: Board Planning Meeting; 6 p.m.; Admin Center
    4. October 22-25, 2018: Parent-Teacher Conferences
    5. October 25 2018: 2-Hour Early Dismissal
    6. October 26, 2018: No School - Conference Comp Day
    7. October 29, 2018: No School - Teacher Inservice
  14. Meeting adjourned at 8:22 p.m.

No comments:

Post a Comment